Home > Uncategorized > Graphic Support for Books

Graphic Support for Books

May 11, 2004

While reading DonXml‘s post on Why Shouldn’t Authors Self-Publish?, I came across on interesting comment by Darrell Norton. He mentioned that typically graphics and images in books are not always in proportion to the quality of the writing of the book. This makes sense, most programmer writers are not skilled with the likes of graphic design and I can’t imagine that it would be cost-effective for publishers to keep too many artists on staff for this kind of work.

As a designer/developer, I’m interested in how this works behind the scenes.  I’ve noticed the lack of quality graphics in some books, myself.  I wonder how important this is to the success of the book.  Could it warrant a service where the publisher or the author pays an outside consultant to design the graphics (or at least takes them out for a for beer)?

Any input from existing authors?  Anyone willing to pay (or bartering) for graphical support?

[Curiosity killed the cat; or at least gives him to much to do…]

