Home > Uncategorized > Domain Names Abbreviated

Domain Names Abbreviated

June 3, 2004

Recently Chris Sells posted about winfx.com and how it redirects to the Longhorn Developer Center.  As someone who doesn’t really use Favorites this is a great shortcut to have.  Just type “winfx” in the address bar, hit Ctrl+Enter and you’re there.

Two other domain name shortcuts I know of are wmlah which leads to the WatchingMicrosoftLikeAHawk site and msdn which finally leads to the Microsoft Developer Network site.  I say finally, because this is a recnt change.  I know that for at least a year the domain name “msdn.com” was owned by a third-party he just posted a link to direct you to the Microsoft MSDN site.  I wonder how much that guy made when he sold the domain name…

Do you know of any other shortcut domain names I’m missing?

