Home > Uncategorized > Still need to track referrals?

Still need to track referrals?

June 30, 2004

My blog engine does not track referrals yet, and I am contemplating how important they really are.  With services like Feedster, Technorati and PubSub, you can easily track where links to your site exist.  I will probably end up implementing referral tracking in the interest of capturing all data possible, but I wonder how much that data will get lost and if it will just take up hard drive space.

When I setup dasBlog as my engine last November, I checked all of the tracking textboxes thinking I would enjoy logging and even getting an email for every referral, trackback, pingback to my blog.  When I went to move my blog last week, I found that the logs had grown to some 6MB of files.

I think I’ll take a step towards not keeping unused information and write without referrals for awhile.  Who knows, maybe someday I’ll be such a free and casually writer that I won’t even accept comments…:p

