Home > Uncategorized > WPF, where it came from and where its going

WPF, where it came from and where its going

April 25, 2006

I watched this video straight through, full command of my attention.  On Channel 9, Micheal Wallent tells the history of WPF and provides interesting information on its current incarnation and where its heading.  I had actually heard a little of this at MIX06 during the Mix Chat at the WPF table, but this a clear account of how and why the team and project was formed.  Since, my Longhornblogs/Xamlon days, I've been giving WPF sometime to simmer before digging into it.  I've been so web focused, but its always been right there taunting, its a good pain, though.  After listening to this though, I don't know how much more I'll be able to hold off before diving in.

I took notes throughout the whole video due to the steady flow of information.  Rather than drop the notes for the whole video, I'm going to focus on the WPF/e comments, mirroring the my interest in that space.  Atlas helps you build dynamic (like truly dynamic) cross-platform HTML applications. WPF provides for a stunning, hardware accelarated, legible without precedant, integration of documents, graphics media experience.  But WPF/e is going to hit that nice sweet spot in the middle.

WPF/e Notes from the video:

  • a subset of WPF, missing heavy WPF features (hardware acceleration, 3d, deep flowing text)
  • it will run cross platform
  • open format, no license to publish to (Looking forward to the future tools)
  • a new codec for media "WMV + alpha" – run WMVs and WMAs cross platform (this is huge, especially noted after work done on 10)
  • can read XPS – (cross-platform documents!)
  • team goal is 3 releases within the next 18 months

Stoked, is my word for all of this.

