Home > Uncategorized > XMLHttpRequest Sidebar Gadget starter

XMLHttpRequest Sidebar Gadget starter

June 14, 2007

I spent some time working on a Sidebar Gadget tonight and I ran into some issues once I was ready to gather live data.  Cross-domain XMLHttpRequests are permitted in Sidebar gadget, which certainly adds much more value and possibilities.

I found my bug and smashed it whole-heartedly, but I thought it would be nice to share the code for the XHRTest gadget that I was using while debugging.  The code is just about the least amount of code you need to request an RSS feed and have it return the first item’s title.  So I won’t be uploading the gadget to the gallery, but hopefully it may come in handy for someone starting their own Sidebar gadget.  Plus this way I don’t feel like I completely wasted all of that time debugging over and over…

 

And if you are interested in creating your own Sidebar Gadget, read through Jan Kucera’s Practices and Hints for Gadgets.

  1. March 17, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Thanks for this post! Although I had almost everything similar, with the help of your code I got my Gadget finally working.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
