Home > Uncategorized > Silverlight News in my Side Bar

Silverlight News in my Side Bar

January 22, 2008

No, not my Vista SideBar, at least not yet…I’ve added a simple script to my site to show the latest from Silverlight News in my blog’s side bar.  Since each twit is formatted the same way, I was able to grab the URL and text from each post and mash them together in a simple anchor tag.

If you would like to add the Silverlight News feed to your blog, download the script and add this code to your site:

<div id="slNews_div"><h2><a href="http://twitter.com/silverlightnews">Silverlight News</a></h2><ul id="slNews_list"><li></li></ul></div>
<script type="text/javascript" src="slNewsTwitter.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://twitter.com/statuses/user_timeline/silverlightnews.json?callback=slNewsCallback&count=5"></script>

The html is completely configurable and CSS-friendly.  Just make sure you don’t change the id of the unordered list element and it will continue to work.

While I was messing around with my blog, I also added the MIX08 section in the side bar.  I’ve seen so many “I’m going to MIX posts, are you?”  I thought I’d participate.  I did modify the original vector ball just a bit, though.

I’ve also updated my About page which now covers more accurately what I am working on and what I’m into right now.  Overall, I think this is just the beginning.  2008 is going to be a great year.

