Home > Uncategorized > Silverlight User Groups updated on the wiki

Silverlight User Groups updated on the wiki

July 30, 2008

I just finished updating the Silverlight Communities page on the Ch9 wiki to reflect the most recent list of Silverlight User Groups that I’m aware of. Its been interesting to watch as Silverlight emerges as a technology the group activity that emerges as well.

There is enough excitement around Silverlight that people are looking to start dedicated groups around it, not just a focus group or SIG like other technologies in the .NET User Group world.  I say this because in some areas these roups have started independent of any existing user group.

Another take on the meeting in meatspace concept is to create a group focused on the Designer and Developer space, agnostic of technology.  I like this idea because no matter what technology you are using you are still addressing similar issues.  How do you make an engaging and functional user experience?

One of the groups I’ve recently spoken to taking this approach, is the new Chicago Designers and Developers User Group or affectionately known as "cd²".

The guys behind the group are Anthony Handley, Corey Miller and David Charney.  Together they have a good blend of design and development skills across different technologies.  If you’re in the Chicago area I recommend stopping by one of the meetings based on the good intentions they have for the group.

Which brings up an interesting point, sometimes "good intentions" can be just that.  Launching a new user group around a new technology takes a lot of energy as well as to maintain it.  If you take a look at the User Group list, you’ll see that some of the roups haven’t met in awhile.  As more and more people get interested the easier it is to run these groups and the benefits are certainly great.  I’m hoping to see a group started in my area very soon.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

If you know of any other Silverlight/WPF/UX/D² groups or are looking to start one let me know.  I’ll see if I know anyone I could recommend to attend your next meeting.

