Home > Uncategorized > Day 0 at PDC2008 – on inspiration and creativity

Day 0 at PDC2008 – on inspiration and creativity

October 25, 2008

Here I am in my Moroccan hotel room at the Hotel Figueroa ruminating over the first day at the Conference Center for PDC2008 thinking, who works on a Saturday?  Many people do, of course, and some people work really hard like those setting up the Conference Center for the PDC so that the attendees can enjoy the wonderland that it is and will be.

Other people are working hard on a Saturday, like Rick Barraza who shot a video of his latest work, Project Touchstone.

Touchstone is a lobby Surface application written in WPF that takes advantage of Effects and I believe the WPF Effects Library. Its always fun to see when people try new things with new capabilities.

Now I am going to be coy and say "I believe there might be a Surface at PDC".  Maybe. Possibly.

On the note of trying new things and being inspired by design.  I’ve recently found two other things I’d like to share.  The first is an intriguing slide deck, which Don Campbell thankfully bookmarked, by Chris Wilson that discusses change in design.

I really like his thinking and especially the packaging – "3 Rules of Rapid Design".

I don’t want to give any more away, but its worth the 2,3, even 10 minutes you may find yourself thinking about the slides.

One of the things that really gets me about the slides is that I feel Chris Wilson, the author, may be watching TED talks like myself.  If he hasn’t that might even be better.  It could be a clue that we’re heading towards the singularity.

The second item comes from TED Talks, which have become my most recent passion.

I might be late to the game, but that doesn’t matter.  The reruns are great.  Watching TED Talks are entertaining and they fill my head with ideas, give me a different perspective on some of my older thoughts and make me feel like we are not just a collection of gangs, tribes and countries, rather that we are also one human race.  Just a peaceful, "ah yes, this is what life could/should be about".

Anyway back to design and being inspired by new things and big conferences in Los Angeles that start with a "P" and end with a "C… ya there", in one the recently posted TED talks Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi discusses creativity, fulfillment and flow.  I would recommend the talk to anyone who thinks about what they are doing with their time.  I’m not quite sure the following the slide will have the same effect without listening to the talk but I wanted to end this post here because I’m still meditating on it.  I think its a great way to think about the work you do.  Simply put, aim to spend as much time in the flow as possible.

The PDC flow begins tomorrow with Registration, PDC Marketplace, Pre-Conference Sessions and the WomenBuild Workshop.

"C…ya there!"

