Home > Client Technologies, Storytelling > Expression Studio Resources – now including myself, Adam Kinney

Expression Studio Resources – now including myself, Adam Kinney

August 6, 2009
Adam Kinney holding a pretend Expression Blend mug

Before MIX09, I was completely prepared for the new features in Silverlight 3 that we demoed for the first time in public. It was my job to know and I was excited to see the features released.

What I wasn’t prepared for though, was Expression Blend 3 + SketchFlow, and the overall level of awesomeness the team had achieved under my nose.  I was blown away and very interested in using the tools, much more than I had in the past.

Today I am happy to say that knowing and sharing that knowledge with others is now my new job. In the past my focus as a member of the Client Platform Evangelism team was on WPF, Silverlight and the Community. I am still on the same team, but my role has happily shifted to Expression Studio with a strong on focus on using Blend to create Silverlight applications.  I am an Expression Evangelist.

One of my first tasks was to create a list of resources involved in the world of Expression.  I’ve collected the names of different team members, community members, agencies and sites and my goal is to share what I’ve found with you. This will be an ongoing project and I’m ready to post the first edition.

So without further ado, I present:

Expression Studio Resources

The title isn’t very sexy I agree, but its utilitarian and explicit.

On the page you find a list of people in the Expression community and links to their blogs, portfolios and twitter accounts. Along with pointing you to the people in the middle of it all, I will be adding more showcase samples and training resources.

I will also be working on plenty of my own training content which you’ll find posted here along with a few other sites.

If you have suggestions for content, questions, samples to share or feedback on Expression Studio feel free to contect me via twitter, facebook, friendfeed and yes, even email.

  1. August 7, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Congratulations. I’m interested in learning more about extending Blend. For example, I’d like to get it working with Caliburn. Any recommendations for resources in that area?

  2. August 7, 2009 at 6:53 am

    @no silverligh lover – the comments are disabled because this is new blog software and I don’t have the comment spam blocker working yet.If you don’t believe the post, you can check out the source code for Quakelight on Julien’s site: http://www.innoveware.com/quakelight.html@Christopher Bennage – Extending Blend is another topic that desrves its own resource page. I don’t know of anything to point you to right now, but I will look around.

  3. August 7, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Hi Adam,This is great – the Expression Suite especially Blend has a lot of potential. I spend a significant portion of each day working in Blend 3.Areas that I could use more guidance on are: 1. Data binding 2. Design time data generation 3. Time line animation 4. Importing 3D objectsGood luck with your new Expression orientation.David@no silverligh lover – It’s okay to have a different taste in development tools and technology; however, your rudeness is inexcusable.

  4. Apolon
    August 7, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Adam, I’d love to see more content, samples and tutorials on how to extend Expression Studio products in general and Expression Blend in particular. There’s some information on extensibility using Behaviors, but more information is needed and also more info on other areas of extensibility e.g. editors, property grid extensibility etc. Is there a more traditional addin model or is this still unsupported/undocumented?With respect to no silverligh lover, I really can’t understand why developers in general can’t see the humongous potential that Silverlight offers. Sure the tools haven’t been there, but with Blend 3 it has the potential of being a perfect storm. Nope no ones paying me. Its just an honest analysis of the technology.

  5. August 7, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Ha ha I love it when spammers have so little to say against Silverlight that they have to invent that we fake its power :)Congrats Adam. As you know I love Expression and especially Blend, and I am really happy that you will help make the product better, and make the community feedback even more important in these amazing products. Laurent

  6. August 7, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Congrats Adam, Blend 3 made my jaw drop too, and is still surprising me as I discover new hidden nuggets now!

  7. August 7, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Congratulations, Adam!This is a great role for you. The Expression team is really doing some amazing work.

  8. no silverligh lover
    August 7, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Is anyone paying you for saying bullshits about Silverlight 3D engine and showing video stream of original Quake as demo instead? Even Comments are disabled under this post. That’s why Silverlight will never going to be as good for developers if this is only the way. Is made up from cheats from the beginning.

  9. August 7, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Congratulations Adam…Mom always did like you best :)I’ve had Expression Tags in SC forever, and track all I find.I look forward to seeing all the goodness from your blog!

  10. August 7, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Congratulations, it sounds like a lot of fun. Can’t wait to see what goodies you cook up for us!

  11. August 10, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Hi Adam, congratulations. Great role for a great product.

  12. August 13, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Thanks Adam for such a great collection of resources. I liked the links to blogs and twitter accounts a lot. I’ll be looking forward to get more samples and info from your blog.

  13. January 28, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    After reading

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
