Home > Client Technologies > Happy Holidays in Silverlight with help from COLOURlovers

Happy Holidays in Silverlight with help from COLOURlovers

December 16, 2009

A collision of ideas happened yesterday. The second run of the MIX 10k contest was announced and I realized just how close we are to the holidays. So I thought to myself, “I need a holiday card generator that runs on less than 10k of code”. And that’s exactly what I made.

I’ve run the program a few times now and below are a few of my favorite prints. Here’s how you can make your own:

  1. Open the Holiday Card Generator page.
  2. A random palette will be selected using the awesome COLOURlovers API.
    • If you want a new palette of colors, refresh the page.
  3. Random holiday shapes will begin appearing on the screen.
    • if you want a new arrangement, click one of the shapes with your mouse.
  4. Once the all the shapes appear, move the mouse to slide the arrangement around.
  5. Use some screen capture like the Snipping Tool or old Print Screen to save it.
  6. Or, just hit refresh and start all over again.

         1_toxic

         2_yucky

         3_haveyou

         4_cherrypie

         5_matchyourmood

         6_iridescent1

This was a lot of fun and pretty easy to do.  I can see how once you get started on the “generated art” you just keep going.

Happy Holidays!

  1. December 17, 2009 at 7:35 am

    I believe I can better this within 10K. Wish me Luck

    • December 17, 2009 at 4:13 pm

      Good luck! I look forward to seeing your entry🙂

  2. January 17, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Hi…..
    Nice ti visit here.
    please visit me back
    Happy nice day
    Thanks.

  1. December 24, 2009 at 9:21 pm
Comments are closed.
